Heart of Armour

    All of these clouds lingering,
    And you still refuse to shower me in anything but guilt.
    There is no greater sadness then watching our love dwindling,
    but you released me out of this life that together, we built.
    My heart is aching and bleeding and used,
    You sit there carelessly like I mean nothing anymore.
    We held love for each other in our hearts but now it’s all bruised,
    You shoot bullets of hurt into me like you’re from the Crimean War.
    Have I learnt nothing from what my mother taught me?
    “Be kind to yourself you’re strong enough on your own.”
    Some days I feel a boulder weighing me down when I want to be free,
    Other days I feel strong, beautiful – rarer then Featherstone.
    As I move on from you, he will show me how beautiful I am,
    How I can be loved and how change will come so easily.
    I’ll change for the better as my soul gets fed emotional desideratum,
    Growth will come coarsely and yet so freely.
    I am strong and brave and fierce,
    Even though the pain of a heartbreak is standing in my way.
    I will accomplish all and with my words cuirasses I will pierce,
    To show all how they too are strong, not just tomorrow but everyday.

Leave a comment